Recommended Sponsor Painted-Moon.com - Buy Original Artwork Directly from the Artist

Diplomats, officials and party representatives today at the National Results Centre in Suva awaiting the final declaration of the Fiji general election. Image: Nanise Volau/ Wansolwara

Pacific Media Centre Newsdesk

Prime Minister Voreqe Bainimarama’s FijiFirst party has triumphed in the general election and will govern for a second four-year term after winning most votes

FFP polled 227,241 votes – just over half the total votes – followed by the Social Democratic Liberal Party (SODELPA) in second place with 181,072 votes (39.85 percent) while the National Federation Party (NFP) came third with 33,515 votes (7.38 percent).

SODELPA and NFP will again form the opposition for another four years.

Other parties gained less than the 5 percent threshold needed to gain seats in the 51-seat Parliament.

Wansolwara News reported earlier that it was understood that after the official handover of results from the Fiji Elections Office, the Electoral Commission would announce the allocation of seats in Parliament before the Writ of Election would be presented to President Jioji Konrote later today.

The final results in the Fiji general election announced by the Fiji Elections Office (FEO) in Suva today. Source: FEO/Wansolwara

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Article by AsiaPacificReport.nz