Recommended Sponsor Painted-Moon.com - Buy Original Artwork Directly from the Artist

Fiji’s National Results Centre has been releasing provisional results from votes cast at 2170 polling venues. Image: Wansolwara

By Wansolwara Staff

Prime Minister Voreqe Bainimarama has maintained a strong lead early today in Fiji’s general election, polling 140,631 votes from 1552 of 2170 stations being counted at the National Results Centre in Suva.

Opposition SODELPA leader Sitiveni Rabuka has so far raked in 65,650 votes followed by Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum with 15,252 and Biman Prasad on 10,461 at 5.50am.

In a surprising twist, Lynda Tabuya has climbed a few votes up, sitting on 7197 votes so far followed by Alipate Nagata with 5270 and Ro Teimumu Kepa with 4699 votes.

Parveen Bala closes in with 4429 followed by Mosese Bulitavu with 4176, Atonio Lalabalavu with 3198, Niko Nawaikula with 3095, Viliame Gavoka on 2929 and Savenaca Narube with 2439.

The provisional results by candidates were released via the Fijian Elections Office FEO App, which is compatible with smartphones and can be downloaded from Google Play and Apple Store.

In terms of provisional results by party from the 1552 stations counted so far, FijiFirst Party is still in the lead with 190,233 votes (51.79 percent). Other results out of the FEO App as of 5.50am today include:


Social Democratic Liberal Party – 139,130 (40.19%)
National Federation Party – 27,631 (7.52%)
Unity Fiji – 5723 (1.56%)
Fiji Labour Party – 2408 (0.66%)
Humanity Opportunity Prosperity Equality – 2225 (0.61%)

The announcement of provisional results will end at 7am but counting will continue until the final results are tallied and released from the National Results Centre at the FMF Gymnasium in Suva.

This article is republished under the content sharing arrangement of USP’s Wansolwara student journalism newspaper and AUT’s Pacific Media Centre.

Provisional progress results in the Fiji general election at 6.20am today. Source: FEO
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Article by AsiaPacificReport.nz