Article sponsored by


Source: University Of Auckland – Press Release/Statement:

Headline: Nominations open for Māori Business Leaders Awards

Nominations are now invited from individuals, groups or organisations for the Aotearoa New Zealand Māori Business Leaders Awards, which recognise and celebrate outstanding Māori excellence and success in business.

The awards, hosted by the University of Auckland Business School, are New Zealand’s premier Māori business awards event, and nominations close on 20 March.

Business School Dean Professor Greg Whittred says the awards recognise individuals and organisations for their contributions to the advancement of Māori enterprise in New Zealand and around the world.

Held for more than ten years, the awards have grown in size and stature, and the prizegiving reception attracts politicians, Māori business and community leaders, iwi organisations, government agencies, Māori Business School alumni, Business School partners and friends, family and business associates of the award winners, and current Māori students and faculty members.

Previous individual winners include computer animator Ian Taylor, businessman Chris Mace and banker Sir Ralph Norris; and previous organisation award winners include Nelson-based Māori incorporation Wakatū and South Island iwi Ngāi Tahu.

“In a new development, a steering committee has been established to review the award categories, agree selection criteria, seek nominations, evaluate candidates and select award winners,” Professor Whittred says.

“The steering committee is comprised of successful and respected people from across the Māori world and representatives from the Business School.”

The awards categories this year are:

For individuals

  • Outstanding Māori Business Leaders Award
  • Emerging Māori Business Leaders Award
  • Māori Woman Business Leaders Award
  • Dame Mira Szászy Māori Alumni Award

For organisations

  • Outstanding Māori Business Leadership Award

Professor Whittred says the new categories reflect the growing breadth and depth of Māori excellence and success in business. Finalists will be revealed and award winners announced at a reception on 1 May in Auckland.

Further information on the awards, including the composition of the steering committee, the awards criteria, and a nomination form, is avalable on the awards website