Source: New Zealand Government – Press Release/Statement:

Headline: Appointments to Lottery Distribution Committees

Internal Affairs Minister Peter Dunne today announced 13 new members to ten Lottery distribution committees with terms commencing on 2 March 2015.

“Distribution committees fund a range of great projects and programmes and make a major contribution to communities up and down the country.  The new appointees bring a wealth of knowledge, experience and community connections, and will help ensure the committees continue to be well-placed to do their work”, says Mr Dunne.

  • Kassandra Jackson from Wanaka and Joy Paterson from Twizel have been appointed to the Lottery Individuals with Disabilities Committee.
  • Heather Tanguay JP from Auckland has been appointed to the Lottery Marae Heritage and Facilities Committee.
  • Garth Clarricoats from New Plymouth has been appointed to the Lottery National Safety Committee and Lottery Outdoor Safety Committee – the two committees share the same membership. 
  • Dr Bridget Mosley has been appointed to the Lottery World War One Commemorations, Environment and Heritage Committee, and Bruce Hamilton has been promoted to Presiding Member.
  • Jackie Black from Havelock North has been appointed to the Lottery Hawke’s Bay Community Committee.
  • Hamish Walker from Dunedin and Margot Hishon from Winton have been appointed to the Lottery Otago/Southland Community Committee.
  • Beverley Gibson from New Plymouth has been appointed to the Lottery Taranaki Community Committee.
  • Jason Sebestian from Hamilton and Simon Lockwood from Cambridge have been appointed to the Lottery Waikato Community Committee, and Sue King is acting as Presiding Member.
  • Elizabeth Sneyd from Wellington has been appointed to the Lottery Wellington/Wairarapa Community Committee.

Lottery Distribution Committees make grants for community purposes, using money allocated by the Lottery Grants Board from the profits of New Zealand lotteries.  There are nine national committees focused on particular themes or issues and 11 regional committees with a general community focus.

– –

Selwyn Manning, BCS (Hons.) MCS (Hons.) is an investigative political journalist with 23 years media experience. He specializes in reportage and analysis of socioeconomics, politics, foreign affairs, and security/intelligence issues. Selwyn has extensive experience as a commentator and has provided live political analysis to a wide range of television and radio organizations broadcasting in New Zealand, Australia and globally including the BBC (Five Live, London) and BBC (World Service). He is currently a correspondent to Australia's FiveAA radio, and is a regular live-on-air panelist on Radio New Zealand's The Panel with broadcaster Jim Mora.